Book Review: A Night in Lonesome October by Roger Zelazny

A Night in the Lonesome OctoberA Night in the Lonesome October by Roger Zelazny
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I found this book to be quite charming. As a mostly fantasy fan not fond of change and pretty much isolated in my fandom, I used to stick to a couple of authors I knew I liked and simply reread them over and over. As I’ve made contact recently with a wider sff community, I’ve been branching out, trying authors I’ve heard of as ‘classics’ but never read. Roger Zelazny combines so many elements of fiction, horror, and myth and does it so well, one is carried from beginning to end with pure joy, never knowing what or who will spring up next.

Told from the perspective of the animal familiars, this story of the mysterious event that comes when a full moon falls on All Hallow’s Eve, when the curtain between the worlds, apparently *all* worlds, is weakened and thinned, is assigned a chapter a day. This allows fans to read all month long, building up to the big night with the characters or bite off huge chunks, as one desires. The twists, turns, and quid pro quo exchange of information is a lesson in negotiation any politician could benefit from. Givens the hints as to Jack’s identity, it is all the more fitting that his companion, Snuff, should be a dog, “Man’s First Friend”.

The switch at the end is great. One can find friends in the most unlikely of places.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

