NaNoWriMo 2015

Welcome to National Novel Writing Month!

I don’t think I have the skill set to write a novel or any long piece yet, but I have made a commitment to write a blog post every day. I can’t guarantee the length and quality will be consistent, but I will make every effort. I have about 10 ideas lined up right now.

Sister in law #2.3 should be arriving from China today with Niece #2 in tow. Brother #2 likes to point out she is also Sister in law #2.4 since they divorced and remarried. I prefer to keep things simple with labeling. LOL. She and Niece #2 will be staying with my parents until the 15th of November because that it the earliest Brother #2 could move into the apartment he found. The international school he teaches for will provide free on-campus housing for the individual teachers, but not for their families, even though the houses they provide are more than spacious enough for a small family. Not the first time he has run up against different cultural priorities in dealing with a China-based school.

I got my regular aide back after a kerfuffle with the agency. They have, in their infinite wisdom, decided to implement a new plan and send aides out to clients in ‘regions’ instead of the clients they have been seeing regularly for months, and in some cases years. So, without warning, I received a phone call from a complete and utter stranger that she would be the one coming the next morning to do my personal care instead of the aide whom I had just gone rounds to keep when we adjusted my schedule from two visits per week (Sunday and Wednesday) to three (Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday). I fought so that I could keep my aide during the week and the same aides on the weekend, just moved from Sunday to Saturday. Several unreturned calls from the scheduler and then a nice chat with the Director of Client Care, I have her back. It was particularly upsetting in that they had taken away the two clients J had in my town and assigned her two new clients in the *same town*. The new aide they assigned came to me from a subdivision 10 miles away and then went to her next client who is about 12 miles away in the opposite direction. I was her *only* client in my town. I live in an exploding bedroom community about 10 miles away from a major city that encompasses several suburbs. I passed the Director’s name and extension to J to pass on the other aides and clients who are just as upset. J had no idea such an office existed in the company, much less the woman’s name or number. She says the other aides are whispering to each other over this in a way that has never happened before in all the years she has worked there and many long term aides are planning to quit as soon as they have new jobs elsewhere.

Well, this has been a start. My new computer arrives back from the repair center tomorrow via FedEx. I am soo looking forward to that.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo 2015

  1. Ugh! I hate new computers. They always change everything.

    I did a complete reversal on some sort of momentary madness. I quit drinking long ago so I can’t blame that. Signed up for Nano late last night. I’m at 800 words right now and going slower and slower. I need research but that kills a lot of time. I know do it before, but… pantzer.

    I haven’t figured out how to find anybody or even myself, but if any of you guys find me let me know. ;o}

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

