Chicken Salad

My friend (Facebook counts, right?), Cedar Sanderson, will post on her blog a feature she likes to call “Eat This While You Read That”. Cedar will get recipes from other authors that they like and/or feel will pair well with one of their books. She prepares the recipe, with instructions, commentary, and pictures, and tells a little bit about the author’s work, especially the book that goes with this recipe. Need I mention that Cedar is intimidating as all get out? Newly remarried, mother of two, digital photographer, full-time graduate student taking a double major, *and* a professional author. I even reviewed one of her books here.

Anyway, I thought I’d share a recipe of my own that may go well with reading my blog. It’s my own spin on the old classic, chicken salad.

Ingredients:

    2 6 oz. pkg. of chicken breast strips (I get the southwest seasoned for more flavor)

    ½ diced jumbo red onion

    1 diced bell pepper (Pick a color, any color! I most recently used orange, but I’ve used red, green, orange, and purple.)

    4-5 stalks celery, also diced

    1 3.5 oz. pkg. bacon bits

    ½ 16 oz. bottle Peppercorn Ranch dressing

 

Directions:

Chop chicken, but not too finely. I like to know I’m chewing on something, not a sandwich made with baby food.

Mix all ingredients together in large bowl.

Refrigerate in an air-tight container.

Serve wrapped in small flour tortillas.

 

There you go. CJ’s colorful, flavorful chicken salad.

Leave a Reply

